About Me

Dr. Ajay Kumar

Consultant Urological Surgeon 

MBBS, FRCS (Edin.), FIAMS (Uro), FICS (Uro)

Lifetime Service Award during IMACON 2011
B. C. Roy National Awardee 2007
Urology Gold Medal 2010

Position Served

Hon'ble Positions Held
  • President, Urological Society of India (2008-2009)
  • President, Indian Medical Association ( 2007-2008)
  • Vice President, Common Wealth Medical Association (2007-2010)
  • Executive Committee , Medical Council Of India (2001-2005)
  • Speciality Advisory Board (Urology),National Board of Examination(NBE) (2001-2004)
  • Board of Governors .Indira Gandhi Institute of Medical Sciences, Patna.(1998-2006)
Current Position
  • Chairman, Administration of Grievance : Medical Council of India (Since 2013)
  • Council Member, World Medical Association(WMA) (since 2006)
  • Member , Ethics committee of World Medical Association (WMA)
  • Life Member of the management committee of “Silver Jubilee Research Award fund” of Medical Council of India.
  • Member, Adhoc  Committee Indian Red Cross Society, Bihar State Branch
  • Chairman , Association for Promotion of Creative Learning (APCL)
Urology (National)
  • Practising since 1984 and established Urology as a separate speciality in state of Bihar

    1. President of Urological Society of India (2008-2009)
    2. Secretary of  Urological Society of India  (2003-2007)
    3. President, Urological Society of India  (East Zone) (2001-2003)   
    4. Sec of Urological Society of India  (East Zone ) (1994-98)
    5. Member, Governing Council of Urological Society of India (2000-2002)
    6. Introduced “Brij Kishore Patna Prize in Urological Society of India through personal donation for those practising urologist below the age of 40 years who present best research paper during Annual Conference of USI.
Urology (International)
    1. Member, World Endourology Society, Société Internationale d’Urologie (SIU)
    2. Faculty Mem’ber, 12th Video Urology World Congress, Goa, March 2000.
    3. Faculty member at World Congress of Endourology (WCE) at Cleveland (Ohio),USA in August 2006
    4. Guest Speaker at International Symposium of Urology Transplant & Nephrology (29th Nov to 4th December 2005) held at Sindh Institute of Urology and Transplantation (SIUT), Karachi, Pakistan
    5. Invited as faculty member  at Centenary Conference of Société Internationale d’Urologie (SIU) in September 2007 at Paris to deliver guest lecture on “Ethics in Organ Transplantation”
    6. Invited as faculty member at Annual Conference of Urology ,2010 (ACU) at Taipei (Taiwan) by Urological Association of Asia (UAA) to deliver state of art lecture on “Management of VVF”.




  • Member, National Executive of the Overseas Doctors Association (ODA) in the U.K. 1981-1983 
  • General Secretary, Hospital Doctors Forum of ODA in the U.K 1981 – 1983 
  • Represented, ODA in the U.K in the committee of General Medical Council for formulation of P.G. training for the overseas doctors 1981-1983


Indian Medical Association (National)
  • National President IMA ( 2007-2008)
  • President IMA (Bihar State) Year 2000-2002
    AWARD for best adjudged PRESIDENT of state Branch during 200-2001,held at New Delhi.
  • Secretary. IMA (Bihar State Branch) Year 1991-92, 1992-93.
     Awarded MERIT CERTIFICATE for outstanding performance as   Hon. Secretary during 1991-92 at the 68th All India Medical Conference held at Varanasi (U.P.).
  • Chairman ,Finance committee of Indian Medical Association 2000-2006
  • Chairman, IMA Academy of Medical Specialties (Bihar State Chapter), 1993-94 & 1999-2000
Indian Medical Association (International)
    1. a) Represented IMA in 1st World Medical Summit held at Shanghai (China) in June 2005 and delivered following guest lectures. :
    2. Global Disaster Management: Indian Perspective
    3. How to improve Hospital Image and Public Relation
    4. Prospect of Medical and Health tourism in India
    5. Ethics in Organ Transplant at Crossroads “
    6. b) Invited as distinguished guest at Annual Representative Meeting of British Medical Association at Torque (UK) in June 2007
    7. c) Delivered guest lecture at CMAAO (Conference of Medical Associations of Asia and Oceana) annual conference at Bali (Indonesia) on “Impact of Global Recession of Health Care industry” in October 2009.
    8. d) Represented World Medical Association (WMA) in “World Health Professional conference on Regulation (WHPCR) in February 2010 at Geneva
    9. e) Nomination by World Medical association to represent in Annual Representative meeting of British Medical Association, 2011 at Cardiff, UK.
    10. Guest Lecture at Tokyo (Japan) on “Vulnerable groups in Clinical Trials: Asian Perspective “, during regional meeting of World medical association for revision of Helsinki Declaration on Code of Medical Ethics .
Oration & Awards
  • B.C Roy Award 2006 by Medical Council of India
  • “Urology Gold Medal – 2010” by Urological Society of India
  • Himadari Sarkar Memorial Oration 2010 during Annual conference of Urological Society of India at Agra
  • RVP Sinha Memorial Oration during USICON EZ 2005 at Manipur (Imphal)
  • V N Singh Memorial Oration –Patna Medical College 2003
  • S Jirge Memorial Oration at JLN Medical College, Belgaum (Karnataka) in April 2006.
  • Awarded “KAMLA JEEVAN NATH DAR PRIZE BY NETARHAT OLD BOYS ASSOCIATION, Delhi in 1992 for all round activities in academic and social fields.
  • Key note address in regional workshop on “Excellence in Healthcare in India “at Banaglore in April 2007.
  • Delivered Mrinal Nandi Memorial Oration at CAL- PLATICON on 5.06.2011 in Kolkatta.
  • Guest Lecture, APICON 2015 at Gurgaon on ‘Ethics in Medical Practice.
  • Guest Lecture APICON 2016 at Hyderabad on “ Challenges faced by medical profession today “
  • Invited to deliver guest lecture and participate in panel discussion in different parts of the country  on Ethics In Medical Practice & Allied Topics
  • Schooling at prestigious NETARHAT VIDYALAYA
  • Founder Chairman, Netarhat Alumni Educational Trust, which runs “Vidya Vihar”, Parora, Purnea, the only fully residential public school in Bihar.
  • Chairman, Association for Promotion of Creative Learning (APCL). APCL is totally committed to imbibe creativity in individual’s right from infancy. The association runs School of Creative Learning in suburb of Patna for imparting an amalgamation of creative and formal education to children of middle and low income group in semi urban areas.
  • Chairman, Organising Committee of Rashtriya Swasthya Mela, organised by IMA in Patna in collaboration with Govt. of India and Govt of Bihar in Nov. 2000 which became GOLD STANDARD for future SWASTHYA MELAS in India.
  • Organised, several family welfare camps and public awareness camps in Bihar under the banner of “JANSANKHYA VISPHOT KE VIRUDH ABHIYAN”, with help of different civil society organisations without taking any financial help from government agencies. About five thousands & five hundreds Tubeligation of lower middle class and lower class population has been carried out so far and the ABHIYAN continues.